Cheers To Happiness

I’m finally happy, completely at peace with life and my decisions. While some may believe that they haven’t always been the best and will disagree that’s okay. I live my life on my own terms, no one else’s. When I left my comfort zone, I didn’t expect to really slip into the role of what I am doing, so quickly. Where I work, there are very supportive women, who even if I feel stupid at times, are there to catch me if I make a mistake. It isn’t about how life treats you, it’s how you choose to treat your own.

You don’t really know what the different chapters you are creating will entail, but being more self aware helps. By that I mean you can see with a more clear vision of what life should be, not the illusions sometimes fogging us. As I changed careers, I realized that there isn’t a turning back. I’m fully committed to what the future holds, safety net not included. Where I am at in my life and career is serendipity, and I realize that’s a pretty strong word, but there is a reason behind it.

Back when I worked in the food service industry, it was always a game of catch up, whether it was orders or supplies or even complaints from customers. There was no catching up ever. As it progressed to me being a manager, the workload was never done, and while that helped me in my future roles, at the time it was overwhelming. From the unexpected rushes, hot summers in the assembly lines, which seemed to go on forever and making the best of friends with my co workers, I cherish that time, good, bad and indifferent. For instance there was a time where the freezer was too hot, and I had to move food from store to store. That was thousands of dollars in profits that could have been lost, but I handled it with the proper channels. It was more than just working in a sub shop, it was understanding that your role was apart of how the foundation worked. Every one of my co workers busted their ass on the daily, and I will defend that forever. Strong leaders make even stronger teams.

In the office where I work now, fast paced and learning as much as I can on the cuff, I really love. It was the challenge I’ve been looking for, and a group of women who nurture that. I don’t feel like I’m drowning in my own misery, stuck or unsure. Even when I make mistakes, I can see this as a corrective action, unlike in the past where it was public embarrassment. With all the different personalities I have worked with in my career, this dynamic works best for me. Forever yearning for something different, and making the goal of when I first joined the company to work my way to this role. I was a little late getting here, surviving a pandemic, but I’ve arrived.

In the coming months, I hope to master my position and at least one other role there. There is so much in that office that make it run like a well oiled machine, teamwork is essential to us meeting our goals, personally and professionally. I’m no longer a work in progress, I’m growth personified. Never thought I would be able to say that so soon. Feeling like a brand new person, while still having the connection to the person I lost years ago, is an interesting experience. Always try to find that inner child, nurture it because as adults, it’s what we lose sight of. The mistakes that follow, can result from unresolved childhood traumas, that spill into our adult lives and take us through a tailspin. I think back to the moment when it all came to a head 3 months ago, and I wouldn’t be where I am if it hadn’t happened. My eyes were opened to what I was lacking besides happiness, mentally and physically.

I have spent everyday since then working on myself, and changing through this metamorphosis. Now able to smile, laugh and accept life for what it is. I see the beautiful in everything these days, whether it be good or bad, everything is a learning process to me. I am finding my footing in my new role at work, and progress is something that happens daily, even with the hiccups. It’s not always about the perfection we seem to need to find within ourselves, but the steps it takes to get there. I can admit I was lost in the beginning, because I was coming from a completely different setting. As I get more used to the office life, I do feel more comfortable with daily task, and enjoy the environment, challenges and my co workers. I mean how many people can honestly they have a position they set out to get? It was worth the all of the sidetracking it took to get to this point, and makes me extra grateful to be honest. As I head into month number two, I embrace the future and what it holds for me. Next month is my birthday and I can honestly say, I believe that my biggest wish will come true, bring on year 39, I am ready for you!

Take Care,

Taaury37

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started